过渡(14-21 岁)

过渡年(14 至 21 岁)是连接学校提供的服务与成人系统的关键时期。 岁月过得很快。 学生和家庭应该利用这段时间来建立和设定目标,了解可能需要的服务和支持,并为未来做计划。 高度个性化,是时候为从特殊教育系统向高等教育、就业、独立或支持性生活以及成年期的转变做准备了。

学校在过渡规划中的作用

过渡服务定义为  新泽西州行政法规 (NJAC 6A:14) 如:

“在以结果为导向的过程中为学生设计的一套协调的活动,促进从学校到校后活动的转移,包括中学后教育、职业培训、综合就业(包括支持性就业)、继续教育和成人教育、成人服务、独立生活或社区参与。”  (NJAC 6A:14-1.3)

过渡 IEP:

过渡服务应该是 IEP 的一部分,并基于学生的个人偏好和兴趣。 到 16 岁时,学生的 IEP 应包括目标和目标,这些目标和目标开始解决强调成人生活所需技能的长期计划。 联系我们的帮助热线 在您孩子的 IEP 方面获得更多帮助。


 

发育障碍司在过渡规划中的作用

新的 发育障碍司 (DDD) 确保发育障碍人士有机会获得优质服务和支持,有意义地参与社区活动,并行使他们的选择权。

在 18 岁时,DDD 将评估个人的资格并提供过渡计划援助。 DCF 将继续提供所有直接服务(住宿、家庭、行为、家庭支持等),直到 21 岁。21 岁之后,当教育权利结束时,这些服务可以由 DDD 提供,或者通过支持计划或通过社区关怀计划。

此外,DDD 将提供有关各种主题的信息会议和教育材料,包括:

  • 就业和高等教育

  • 福利/法律/财务问题

  • 住房和住宅支持

  • 健康/行为健康

  • DDD 成人服务

  • 以人为本的计划

  • 交通


 

职业康复服务处在转型中的作用

新的 职业康复服务部 (DVRS) 为处于过渡期的成人和学生提供与就业相关的服务。 DVRS 帮助需要服务的残疾学生为就业做准备,目的是让他们为毕业后开始工作或接受高等教育的培训做好准备。 DVRS 可以提供 就业前过渡服务 (Pre-ETS) 适用于 14-21 岁的残疾学生。

Pre-ETS 包括以下内容:

  • 求职咨询

  • 关于全面过渡、职业培训、行业认可的证书课程和中学后培训的咨询和指导服务

  • 基于工作的学习经历、实习和学徒制

  • 工作场所准备培训,以培养社交技能和独立生活技能

  • 自我宣传指导

这些服务适用于所有残疾学生,包括在家上学的学生。

Transition (14-21 years)

Transition years (14 to 21) are a critical time that bridges the services provided by school with the adult system.   The years go fast. Students and families should use this period to establish and set goals, understand the services and support that may be needed, and plan for the future.  Highly individualized, it’s a time to prepare for the change from the special education system to post-secondary education, employment, independent or supportive living, and adulthood.

School’s Role in Transition Planning

Transition services are defined by  The New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC 6A:14) as:

“a coordinated set of activities for a student, designed within an outcome-oriented process, that promotes movement from school to post-school activities, including post-secondary education, vocational training, integrated employment (including supported employment), continuing and adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation.”  (NJAC 6A:14-1.3)

Transition IEP:

Transition services should be a part of the IEP and based on the student’s individual preferences and interests. By age 16, a student’s IEP should include goals and objectives that begin to address a long range plan that emphasizes skills that are needed for adult life. Contact our Helpline for additional assistance with your child’s IEP.


 

Division of Developmental Disabilities’ Role in Transition Planning

The Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD) assures the opportunity for individuals with developmental disabilities to receive quality services and supports, participate meaningfully in their communities, and exercise their right to make choices.

At age 18, DDD will assess the individual for eligibility and provide transitional planning assistance. All direct services (residential, in-home, behavioral, family support, etc.) will continue to be provided by DCF until age 21. After age 21, and when the educational entitlement ends, these services may be provided by DDD, either through the Supports Program or through the Community Care Program.

In addition, DDD will offer informational sessions and educational materials on various topics including:

  • Employment and postsecondary education

  • Benefits/legal/financial issues

  • Housing and residential supports

  • Health/behavioral health

  • DDD adult services

  • Person Centered Planning

  • Transportation


 

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services ’ Role in Transition

The Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services (DVRS) provides employment-related services for adults and students in transition.  DVRS assists students with disabilities who need services to prepare for employment, with the goal of preparing them to begin work or post-secondary training that leads to employment upon graduation. DVRS can provide Pre-Employment Transition Services (Pre-ETS) for students with disabilities between the ages of 14-21.

Pre-ETS consists of the following:

  • Job exploration counseling

  • Counseling and guidance services on comprehensive transition, vocational training, industry-recognized credential programs, and post-secondary school training

  • Work-based learning experiences, internships, and apprenticeships

  • Workplace readiness training to develop social skills and independent living skills

  • Instruction in self-advocacy

These services are available to all students with disabilities, including students who are home-schooled.