学龄(3-21 岁)

特殊教育权利

学区负责在适当的情况下对 3 至 21 岁的自闭症儿童进行教​​育。 他们还负责孩子可能需要从他们的特殊教育中受益的任何相关服务。

新泽西州的特殊教育权利源于联邦法律,通常称为 IDEA (残疾人教育法)。 新泽西州行政法规 (NJAC) 6A:14 基于 IDEA。 下载 或致电 609.376.9060 向您的学区或新泽西州教育部特殊教育政策和程序办公室 (OSEPP) 索取副本。

NJAC 6A:14 解释了被确定有资格获得特殊教育和相关服务的儿童的权利,以及学区为遵守法律而必须遵循的政策和程序。 此外,它还描述了在学区和家长不同意某个问题时的程序保障措施。

资格条件

自闭症儿童有权在限制最少的环境 (LRE) 中接受免费适当的公共教育 (FAPE)。 担心的家长可以联系当地学区的特殊服务部门并要求进行评估以确定特殊教育服务的资格。 可能会召开会议以确定是否需要进行评估以及需要进行哪些评估。

FAPE的本质是一种“适当”的教育。 尽管“适当”一词对每个孩子都不同,并且基于他或她的独特情况,但学校必须提供雄心勃勃且具有挑战性的教育计划(参见 Endrew案例文章) 给残疾学生。

个性化教育计划(IEP)

IEP 是一份法律文件,列出了要提供给接受特殊教育的孩子的所有服务。

IEP 必须:

  • 详细描述孩子的特殊教育计划。

  • 描述孩子目前的表现以及他或她的具体教学需求。

  • 包括可衡量的年度目标和短期目标或基准。

  • 合理计算,使孩子能够根据他们的个人情况取得适当的进步。

学区必须遵循特殊教育法要求的评估时间表和程序。

家长在 IEP 过程中的角色和权利

IEP 是学区与家长之间具有法律约束力的合同,是在 IEP 会议上制定的。 新泽西州行政法规规定父母是 IEP 团队的一部分。 作为 IEP 团队的成员,家长可以为 IEP 的制定和实施以及安置决定提供意见。

学区必须向家长提供一份 特殊教育中的父母权利(PRISE),其中包括请求投诉调查、调解、正当程序听证会和紧急救济的表格和说明。 这本小册子必须由学区每年提供一次,例如在孩子被转介进行初步评估、进行重新评估以及向教育部提交正当程序听证请求时。 在其他情况下,学区必须向家长提供一份声明,解释家长根据特殊教育法享有的权利、家长如何获得 PRISE 副本以及他们可以联系寻求帮助的来源。

解决纠纷

当家长在识别、评估、分类、教育安置或提供免费、适当的公共教育方面与学区存在分歧时,他们有权要求召开 IEP 会议、调解以解决争议,如果未能解决,则有权要求正当程序听证会。

2019年XNUMX月,教育部印发 关于进行特殊教育决议会议的修订程序的指导. 有关这些程序的更多信息,请联系 特殊教育政策和争议解决办公室 在609.376.9060。

特殊教育时间表

诊断时或 2 岁时:

以书面形式联系您当地学区的儿童研究团队 (CST),以推荐您的孩子获得特殊教育服务的资格。

3 岁或根据资格确定:

制定您孩子的 IEP(个性化教育计划)并确定适当的教育安置。

5 岁和每 3 年:

重新评估:联系您的 CST 个案经理,讨论需要完成的任何评估并更改您孩子的残疾分类(在 5 岁时)。

14-16岁:

在孩子满 14 岁的那一年,IEP 团队应该开始讨论过渡计划。 有关详细信息,请参阅过渡计划。

每年:

将审查 IEP,并制定新的 IEP。 家长有机会通过提供包含在当前学业成绩和功能表现水平 (PLAAFP) 的“家长关注”部分中的信息,为新的 IEP 提供重要意见。 此外,家长也可能有助于制定旨在解决 PLAAFP 中提出的关注领域的目标和目标。

School Aged (3-21 years)

Special Education Rights

School districts are responsible for the education of a child with autism from the age of 3 to 21 if appropriate. They are also responsible for any related services the child may need to benefit from their special education.

Special education rights in New Jersey are derived from the federal law commonly known as IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act). The New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC) 6A:14, the state’s regulations based upon IDEA. Download or request a copy from your school district or from the New Jersey Department of Education’s Offices of Special Education Policies and Procedures (OSEPP) at 609.376.9060.

NJAC 6A:14 explains the rights of the children determined eligible for special education and related services as well as policies and procedures the school districts must follow to comply with the law. Additionally, it describes procedural safeguards in case a school district and parent do not agree on an issue.

Eligibility

Children with autism have the right to a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) in the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE).  School districts must provide students with disabilities with an ambitious educational program with challenging objectives.  Concerned parents can contact the local school district’s Special Services department and request an evaluation to determine eligibility for Special Education services.  A meeting may be held to determine if an evaluation is warranted as well as which evaluations would need to be conducted.

The essence of FAPE is an “appropriate” education.  Although the term “appropriate” is different for every child and is based upon their unique circumstances, schools must provide an ambitious and challenging educational program (see Endrew Case article) to students with disabilities.

The Individualized Education Program (IEP)

The IEP is a legal document that lists all the services that are to be provided to the child receiving special education.

The IEP must:

  • Describe the child's special education program in detail.

  • Describe how the child currently performs and his or her specific instructional needs.

  • Include measurable annual goals and short-term objectives or benchmarks.

  • Be reasonably calculated to enable a child to make progress appropriate in light of their individual circumstances.

School districts must follow the evaluation timelines and procedures required by special education law.

A Parent’s Role and Rights in the IEP Process

The IEP is a legal and binding contract between the school district and the parents, and is developed at the IEP meeting. The New Jersey Administrative Code states that parents are a part of the IEP team. As members of the IEP team, parents may provide input into the development and implementation of the IEP as well as placement decisions.

School districts must provide parents with a copy of Parental Rights in Special Education (PRISE), which includes forms and instructions on requesting complaint investigations, mediation, due process hearings, and emergent relief. This booklet must be provided by the school district one time per year, such as when a child is referred for an initial evaluation, when a reevaluation is conducted, and when a request for a due process hearing is submitted to the Department of Education. At other instances, the school district must provide parents with a statement explaining that parents have rights under the special education law, how parents can obtain a copy of PRISE, and sources they may contact for assistance.

Resolving Disputes

When parents disagree with school districts over the identification, evaluation, classification, educational placement or the provision of a free, appropriate public education, they have the right to request a facilitated IEP meeting, mediation to resolve the dispute or, if not resolved, a due process hearing. Requests for mediation or due process must be submitted to John Worthington, Acting Director, Offices of Special Education.

Special Education Timeline

At diagnosis or 2½ years old:

Contact the Child Study Team (CST) in your local school district in writing to refer your child for eligibility for special education services.

Age 3 or upon eligibility determination:

Develop your child’s IEP (Individualized Education Program) and determine appropriate educational placement.

Age 5 and every 3 years:

Re-evaluation: Contact your CST case manager to talk about any evaluations that need to be completed and to change your child’s disability classification (at age 5).

Ages 14-16:

In the year that a child turns 14 years old, the IEP team should begin to discuss transition plans. See Transition Planning for more information.

Every Year:

The IEP will be reviewed, and a new IEP will be developed. Parents have the opportunity to provide significant input into the new IEP by providing information to be included in the “Parental Concerns” section of the Present Levels of Academic Achievement and Functional Performance (PLAAFP). Additionally, parents may also contribute to the development of goals and objectives designed to address the areas of concern presented in the PLAAFP.