自闭症患病率

更新12 / 16 / 2021

根据美国疾病控制与预防中心 (CDC) 的最新数据,全国每 1 名儿童中就有 44 名患有自闭症谱系障碍。 该统计数据基于他们对 8 年包括新泽西州在内的 2016 个州 11 岁儿童的健康和教育记录的评估。 新泽西州现在是全国自闭症发病率第二高的地区:每 1 名儿童中就有 35 名,或 2.8 岁儿童的 8%。

8岁儿童患病率

关于费率

自闭症在全国范围内呈上升趋势。 自 2000 年以来,CDC 连续第九次发现,美国 8 岁儿童的自闭症患病率有所上升,是迄今为止全国最高的。

  • 在全国范围内,自闭症的患病率为 1 人中有 44 人(2.3%)。
  • 在新泽西州,1 人中有 35 人 (2.8%)*

*新泽西州的比率比之前报告的 1 人中有 32 人略有下降,但在过去的三份报告中一直相对稳定。  

关于 CDC 研究

自 20 多年前开始这项研究以来,自闭症和发育障碍监测 (ADDM) 网络一直在审查新泽西州和全国 8 岁儿童的记录,并发布关于他们的患病率调查结果的半年度报告。 2021 年流行率报告来自 2018 年审查的记录。由于方法的改进,最新报告能够在 2021 年 XNUMX 月发布,比通常每两年发布一次的春季发布时间要早。

2014 年,包括新泽西在内的一些州开始研究 4 岁儿童。 对 4 岁儿童的调查结果提供了较早时间点的快照,因此,提供了一种监测关键举措进展的方法,例如筛查、评估和诊断的年龄。 目前,全国 4 岁儿童的发病率为 1 分之一,新泽西州为 59 分之一。

关键信息

来源:  CDC 2021 社区报​​告

在其分析中,CDC 提供了以下观察结果。

  • 更高的比率:2018 年 ADDM ASD 患病率估计值高于 2016 年 8 岁儿童的估计值。
  • 8 岁儿童:8 岁儿童的 ASD 患病率估计为 1.7%(密苏里州)至 3.9%(加利福尼亚州); 新泽西州的患病率估计值第二高(2.8%),表明 ADDM 网络站点之间的 ASD 诊断存在差异。
  • 4 岁儿童:4 岁儿童的 ASD 患病率估计范围为 0.9%(犹他州)至 4.2%(加利福尼亚州),这表明 ADDM 网络站点之间的 ASD 诊断存在差异。
  • 种族差异:在 ADDM 站点中,黑人、白人和西班牙裔 8 岁儿童的 ASD 发生率相似; 然而,更多被认定患有 ASD 的黑人儿童也有智力障碍(有关详细信息,请参阅 MMWR)。

深入了解 CDC 的数据

社区报告:易于理解的研究摘要及其数据

2021 年社区报告(完整)
新泽西州自闭症谱系障碍的快照

科学报告:完整的同行评审报告和数据

发病率和死亡率周报(MMWR) (12月3,2021)

Autism Prevalence Rates

Updated 12/16/2021

According to the most recent data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the national rate of children identified with Autism Spectrum Disorder is 1 in 44 children. This statistic is based on their evaluation of health and educational records of 8-year-old children in 2016 in 11 states, including New Jersey. New Jersey now has the second highest rate of autism in the nation: 1 in 35 children, or 2.8% of 8-year-old children.

Prevalence in 8-year-old children

About the rates

Autism is on the rise nationwide.  Since 2000 and for the ninth consecutive time, the CDC found autism prevalence in 8-year-old children increased in the United States and were the highest to date nationally.

  • Nationally, the prevalence of autism is 1 in 44 (2.3%).
  • Here in New Jersey, it is 1 in 35 (2.8%)*

*New Jersey’s rate is a slight decrease from the previous rate reported of 1 in 32, but has been relatively stable for the last three reports.  

About the CDC study

Since the study began more than 20 years ago, the Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network has been reviewing records of 8 year olds in New Jersey and across the country and issuing biannual reports on their prevalence findings.  The 2021 prevalence report is from records reviewed in 2018.  Due to an improvement in methods, the latest report was able to be issued in December of 2021, earlier than its usual spring release every two years.

In 2014, some of the states, including New Jersey, began studying 4-year-old children. The findings on 4 year olds offer a snapshot at an earlier point in time and, therefore, provide a means to monitor progress toward key initiatives such as ages of screening, evaluation, and diagnosis. The rates for 4-year-old children are currently 1 in 59 nationally and 1 in 51 in New Jersey.

Key take-away messages

Source:  CDC 2021 Community Report

In its analysis, the CDC offers the following observations.

  • Higher rates: The 2018 ADDM ASD prevalence estimates were higher than 2016 estimates among 8-year-old children.
  • 8 year olds: The ASD prevalence estimates among 8-year-old children ranged from 1.7% (Missouri) to 3.9% (California); New Jersey had the second highest prevalence estimate (2.8%) suggesting differences in ASD diagnosis across the ADDM Network sites.
  • 4 year olds: The ASD prevalence estimates among 4-year-old children ranged from 0.9% (Utah) to 4.2% (California), suggesting differences in ASD diagnosis across ADDM Network sites.
  • Racial gaps: Across ADDM sites, ASD rates were similar for Black, White, and Hispanic 8-year-old children; however, more Black children identified with ASD also had intellectual disability (refer to the MMWR for more details).

Dive deeper into the CDC’s data

Community Reports:  Easy to understand summaries of the study and its data

2021 Community Report (Full)
A Snapshot of Autism Spectrum Disorder in New Jersey

Scientific Report:  For the full peer-reviewed report and data

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) (December 3,2021)