了解成人服务体系

我们认识到成人服务系统是复杂的。 即使对于最有经验的倡导者来说,理解系统和资金也是很困难的。 有许多规则和步骤要遵循。 在本节中,我们将提供信息、文章、常见问题解答和更新,以帮助您更好地了解系统。

详情
教育权利在 21 岁结束后,个人将依靠其他资源来帮助满足他们在住房、就业、适应能力、娱乐、行为、交通等各个领域的需求。 为了获得国家资助的服务,个人必须首先有资格获得这些服务(通过申请并满足一组标准)。 与教育不同,成人服务系统不是一种权利(法律不保证提供服务)。

成人服务不仅基于资格和评估的需求水平,还基于资金的可用性。 当资金不可用时,个人可能会经历很长的等待时间。

自闭症患者服务的主要资金来源是通过 新泽西州发育障碍司 (DDD).

18岁到21岁?  DDD 可以为 18 岁开始的个人确定资格,并从 21 岁开始提供服务。对于 18 至 21 岁之间申请服务的个人,新泽西州儿童和家庭部 儿童护理系统 (CSOC) 接受 DDD 资格认定并提供服务直至 21 岁。

服务之路

我们已经概述了从 DDD 接收服务的四个一般步骤。 单击下面的链接以了解更多信息。

资格条件

你有资格吗?

申请发育障碍 (DDD) 服务部

为了有资格获得 DDD 服务,个人必须首先申请并符合资格标准。 标准和申请都在 DDD 网站上。

本质上,个人必须是:

  1. 被诊断患有发育障碍;
  2. 有资格获得医疗补助;和
  3. 新泽西州的合法居民。

部门通告#3 中提供了对标准和确定资格过程的深入描述。

如何申请:
完成 DDD 的入学申请包并返回您居住所在县的 DDD 社区服务办公室。 了解更多>>

医疗补助:为什么资格是必不可少的
为了访问 DDD 服务,所有新客户和现有客户都必须满足 DDD 的资格要求并获得和维护 医疗补助资格. 这是因为 DDD 已过渡到基于 Medicaid 的按服务收费 (FFS) 报销系统。 任何刚接触 DDD 的人都将参加 FFS 系统下的两个计划之一:支持计划 (SP) 或社区关怀计划 (CCP)。 现有的 DDD 客户及其服务提供商正在逐渐从基于合同的系统过渡。

评定

确定您的需求。

评估、层级和预算
在按服务收费的医疗补助支付系统中,提供者会获得个别服务的报销。 可用于支付服务的金额是个人的预算。 预算是根据评估结果确定的 新泽西州综合评估工具 (NJ CAT),必须由熟悉需要服务的人的个人、家庭成员、提供者或其他个人填写。

完成后,将对评估进行评分,并为个人分配预算等级。 该预算使个人能够为就业/日常支持和个人/家庭支持支付不超过一定金额的服务。 参加社区护理计划 (CCP) 的个人也有在自己家中或其他住宅环境中提供个人支持的预算。 看 DDD 的参考指南 用图表显示根据一个人的层级分配的服务预算金额 支持程序或 CCP.

新泽西综合评估工具 (NJ CAT)
NJ CAT 是 DDD 使用的基于需求的强制性评估,作为确定个人资格和分配预算等级的过程的一部分。 NJ CAT 必须由所有当前 DDD 客户和任何 DDD 新用户填写,或由其填写。 联系您的摄入/强化单元 DDD 社区服务办公室 通过受密码保护的在线调查或通过电话请求访问以完成 NJ CAT。 此外, DDD 的 NJ CAT 资源页面 提供有关如何访问评估的概述和信息。

新泽西州公共服务部在其视频中提供了指导: 完成 NJ CAT. 其他视频可在 DDD 信息论坛 其 YouTube 频道的部分, 新泽西州卫生局.

完成 NJ CAT 的提示
CAT 必须由熟悉需要服务的人的个人、家庭成员、提供者或其他个人填写。 有时,父母和看护者可能很难退后一步,评估一个人的依赖和自我照顾需求的真实程度。 他们可能习惯于向个人提供一定程度的帮助和支持。 为确保对 NJ CAT 的回应将导致预算能够准确反映该人在没有常规护理人员支持的情况下对服务的需求,请查看这些提示。

规划

制定一个计划。

规划过程
规划过程有助于确定个人需要和期望的服务。 如果您还没有,则需要确定并聘请支持协调机构来执行规划过程。 计划过程是基于团队的,需要个人、他们的监护人(如果适用)和支持协调员的意见。

支持协调
支持协调 (SC) 是一项由部门资助的服务,帮助个人获得所需的计划和州计划服务,以及所需的医疗、社会、教育和其他服务。 支持协调是新的基于 Medicaid 的按服务收费系统的一个组成部分。 所有有资格并希望获得部门资助服务的个人都必须选择或分配到支持协调机构 (SCA)。

支持协调机构指派支持协调员与个人及其家人一起工作,以确保完成以人为本的计划工具 (PCPT) 并制定和维护个性化服务计划 (ISP)。 创建 ISP 后,支持协调员帮助将参与者与符合其需求和预期结果的计划和服务联系起来,并确保服务和支持保持在分配的预算范围内。

一旦完全实施按服务收费,所有客户,包括社区护理豁免的客户,都将通过他们的支持协调员获得服务。

选择支持协调机构

需要帮助找到一个?  
新泽西州自闭症 在线推荐数据库 包括经 DDD/Medicaid 批准可提供支持协调的机构列表。 支持协调机构被归类为成人服务,机构名单可以根据他们服务的县来缩小。

服务

连接到服务。

服务提供:
评估和计划过程完成后,个人可以从各种 Medicaid 批准的提供者处获得必要的服务。 通往服务的道路并不止于此; 它正在进行中。 服务随着需求的变化而变化。

DDD 的网站提供了一个 可用服务的完整列表 通过弃权。

请记住,您可以访问的服务类型取决于您是否注册了 支持计划或 CCP.

寻找一个服务提供商? 访问我们的 推荐数据库 寻求建议或访问 DDD 提供商搜索.

Understanding the Adult Service System

We recognize that the adult service system is complicated. Understanding the system and funding can be difficult, even for the most seasoned advocates. There are many rules and steps to follow. In this section, we will be providing information, articles, FAQs and updates to help you better understand the system.

Overview
After educational entitlement ends at age 21, individuals will rely on other resources to help meet their needs in a variety of areas such as housing, employment, habilitation, recreation, behavior, transportation and more. In order to receive state-funded services, individuals must first become eligible for those services (by applying and meeting a set of criteria). Unlike education, the service systems for adults are not an entitlement (services are not guaranteed by law to be available).

Adult services are based not only on eligibility and assessed level of need, but also on the availability of funding. When funding is not available, individuals may experience significant wait times.

The primary funding source for services for individuals with autism runs through the New Jersey Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD).

Aged 18 to 21?  DDD can establish eligibility for individuals beginning at age 18 and services are available beginning at age 21. For individuals applying for services between the ages of 18 and 21, the New Jersey Department of Children and Families Division of Children’s System of Care (CSOC) accepts DDD eligibility determinations and provides services until age 21.

The Path to Services

We’ve outlined the four general steps along the path to receiving services from DDD.  Click on the links below to learn more.

Eligibility

Are you eligible?

Applying for Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD) Services

In order to be eligible for DDD services, individuals must first apply and meet the eligibility criteria. The criteria, as well as an application, are on the DDD website.

Essentially, an individual must be:

  1. Diagnosed with a developmental disability;
  2. Eligible for Medicaid; and
  3. A legal resident of New Jersey.

An in-depth description of the criteria and the process of determining eligibility is provided in Division Circular #3.

How to Apply:
Complete DDD’s Intake Application Package and return to a the DDD Community Services Office in the county in which you live. Learn more>>

Medicaid: Why Eligibility is Essential
In order to access DDD services, all new and existing clients must meet the eligibility requirements for DDD and obtain and maintain eligibility for Medicaid. This is because DDD has transitioned to a Medicaid-based Fee-for-Service (FFS) system of reimbursement. Anyone who is new to DDD will be enrolled into one of two programs under the FFS system: the Supports Program (SP) or the Community Care Program (CCP). Existing DDD clients and their service providers are gradually being transitioned from a contract-based system.

Assessment

Identifying your needs.

Assessment, Tiers, and Budgets
In the Fee-for Service Medicaid payment system, providers are reimbursed for individual services. The amount of money available to pay for services is the individual’s budget. Budgets are determined based on the results of the NJ Comprehensive Assessment Tool (NJ CAT), which must be completed by the individual, family member, provider or other individual who is familiar with the person needing services.

Once complete, the assessment is then scored and the individual is assigned a budget tier. The budget enables individuals to pay for services up to a certain dollar amount for employment/day supports and individual/family supports. Individuals enrolled in the Community Care Program (CCP) also have a budget for individual supports either in their own home or in another residential setting. See DDD’s reference guide with charts showing the budget amounts for services according to one’s tier assignment in the Supports Program or CCP.

The New Jersey Comprehensive Assessment Tool (NJ CAT)
The NJ CAT is the mandatory needs-based assessment used by DDD as part of the process of determining an individual’s eligibility, and assigning their budget tier. The NJ CAT must be completed by or for all current DDD clients and anyone new to DDD. Contact the Intake/Intensive Unit of your DDD Community Services Office to request access to complete the NJ CAT through a password-protected online survey or over the telephone. Additionally, DDD’s NJ CAT Resource Page provides an overview and information on how to access the assessment.

The NJ Department of Human Services provides guidance in its video: Completing the NJ CAT. Other videos are available in the DDD Informational Forums section of its YouTube channel, TheNJDHS.

Tips on Completing the NJ CAT
The CAT must be completed by the individual, family member, provider, or other individual who is familiar with the person needing services. Sometimes, it can be challenging for parents and caregivers to step back and evaluate the true extent of a person’s dependence and self-care needs. They may become accustomed to providing a certain level of assistance and support to the individual. To ensure that responses to the NJ CAT will result in a budget that would accurately reflects the person’s need for services if they did not have support from their regular caregiver, review these tips.

Planning

Make a plan.

The Planning Process
The planning process helps determine what services are needed and desired by the individual. If you don’t already have one, you’ll need to identify and engage a Support Coordination Agency to execute the planning process. The planning process is team-based, requiring the input of the individual, their guardian (if applicable) and the Support Coordinator.

Support Coordination
Support Coordination (SC) is a Division-funded service assists individuals in gaining access to needed program and State plan services, as well as needed medical, social, educational and other services. Support Coordination is a component of the new Medicaid-based, fee-for-service system. All individuals who are eligible for and wish to access Division-funded services must either select or be assigned to a Support Coordination Agency (SCA).

The Support Coordination Agency assigns a Support Coordinator to work with the individual and his/her family to ensure completion of the Person-Centered Planning Tool (PCPT) and to develop and maintain the Individualized Service Plan (ISP). After the ISP is created, the Support Coordinator helps to link the participant to programs and services that match their needs and desired outcomes and ensure that services and supports remain within the allotted budget.

Once fee-for-service is fully implemented, all clients, including those on the Community Care Waiver, will access services through their Support Coordinator.

Choosing a Support Coordination Agency

Need help finding one?  
Autism New Jersey’s online referral database includes a list of agencies that are DDD/Medicaid–approved to provide support coordination. Support Coordination Agencies are categorized under Adult Services, and the list of agencies can be narrowed down by the counties they serve.

Services

Connect to services.

Service Delivery:
Once the assessment and planning process is complete, individuals can access necessary services from a variety of Medicaid-approved providers. The path to services does not end here; it is ongoing. Services change as needs change.

DDD’s website provides a full list of services available through the waiver.

Remember, the types of services you are able to access will depend on if you are enrolled in the Supports Program or the CCP.

Looking for a service provider?  Visit our Referral Database for suggestions or visit the DDD Provider Search.